Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Bulletins, News, and Press: Legislative Bulletins

Legislative Update: Send a Letter to the Editor and See the New Transportation Task Force Members

Friday, February 15, 2008   (0 Comments)
Share |
Send a “Pothole” Letter to the Editor

Have you hit any potholes yet this year? One of the single best ways that you can help push for state transportation funding to repair our roads is with a letter to the editor.

Please click here to access sample letters to the editor regarding potholes. Feel free to put them in your own words and submit them to your local newspaper.

Individuals Named to New Transportation Funding Task Force and Advisory Committee 

The governor and legislative leaders recently announced appointments to two transportation funding groups that will be critical in our efforts to raise $1 billion a year for transportation.

MITA encourages our members to take a look at the list and see if you know any of the individuals outside of our membership that have been appointed. If so, we suggest you make contact with them and help them recognize the importance of this effort to our industry. MITA staff would also be interested in knowing any of our members who may have close relationships with these individuals.

The members of the Task Force to Review the Adequacy of Surface Transportation and Aeronautics Service Provision and Finance in Michigan: Cindy Elliott of Midland to represent manufacturing, Dennis Gillow of Lake City to represent labor, John James of Farmington Hills to represent transportation; Ann Jousma-Miller of Gladstone to represent agriculture, Mike Nystrom of E. Lansing to represent transportation; Roger Salo of Plymouth to represent aviation, Richard Studley of Grand Ledge to represent commerce, Peter Varga of Grand Rapids to represent public transit and Susan Zehnder of Frankenmuth to represent tourism, all for terms expiring at the pleasure of the governor. The appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

Legislative appointments include Rep. Pam Byrnes, representing Speaker Andy Dillon; Representative Phil LaJoy, representing House Republican Leader Craig DeRoche; Senator Jud Gilbert, representing Senate Majority Leader Mike Bishop; and, Senator Glenn Anderson, representing Senate Democratic Leader Mark Schauer.

The members of the citizens advisory committee: Transportation Commissioner Linda Atkinson of Channing, Boyd Blashfield of the Michigan Trucking Association, Gloria R. Combe of the Michigan Railroads Association, Daniel DeGraaf of the Michigan Concrete Paving Association, Saline Mayor Gretchen Driskell to represent the Michigan Municipal League, Michael Fikes of the Michigan Laborers' District Council, William Gehman of Grand Ledge to represent the Michigan Business Aviation Association, Russell Gronevelt of Plymouth to represent the American Council of Engineering Companies of Michigan, Kari Hughston of McBain to represent the Michigan Farm Bureau, James Klett of Dowagiac to represent the Asphalt Paving Association, James Koslosky of Grand Rapids to represent the Michigan Association of Airport Executives, Keith Ledbetter of the Michigan Infrastructure & Transportation Association, William McFarlane of Ypsilanti to represent the Michigan Townships Association, John Niemela of the County Road Association of Michigan, Sylvester Payne of Freeland to represent the Michigan Public Transit Association, Steward Sandstrom of Kalamazoo to represent the Michigan State Chamber of Commerce, Transportation Director Kirk Steudle, and Robert Struck of Marquette to represent the Michigan Association of Counties, all for terms expiring at the pleasure of the governor. The appointments are not subject to Senate confirmation.

If you have any questions please contact Mike Nystrom, Vice President of Government and Public Relations at; or Keith Ledbetter , Director of Legislative Affairs at; or by calling the MITA office at (517) 347-8336.

more Calendar

Sports Night

3/3/2018 » 3/10/2018
2018 MITA Management Conference

Featured Members

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal